Call Now
1800 102 5277

Ch. Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University (CCS HAU)

Updated on: Feb 26, 2013

Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University (CCS HAU) is a State University. Situated in Hisar, CCS HAU is one of the most prestigious universities in Asia for imparting education in agriculture. It is popular among residents as “HAU”, and it was established on February 2 ,1970 by an Act of Parliament.

The University is affiliated to the University Grant Commission, UGC, Government of India. CCS HAU is was the first higher education institute which created a separate college for sports in India.

The University was named after India’s seventh Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh. Earlier the university was part of the Punjab Agricultural University which became an autonomous institution in 1966 with the division of Punjab and Haryana.

CCS HAU is one of Asia's major agricultural universities, and it has contributed significantly to Green Revolution and White Revolution in India. In the past, the University has developed several varieties of crops, such as wheat, rice, millets, and cash crops like cotton, sugarcane, oil seeds etc.

CCS HAU Departments

Following Departments are run by the University:
  • Agriculture
  • Home Science
  • Veterinary Sciences
  • Animal Sciences
  • Basic Sciences & Humanities

CCS HAU Placements

The University has a Student Counselings and Placement Cell which enables student interaction with well-known National and International organizations for the purpose of job opportunities and other career related activities.

For further information related to  CCS HAU, click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Haryana
Explore our interactive map!